Suite panorama copy

To take the most loved and finest music in the entire classical canon and to rearrange it for the needs of the modern media industry calls for a certain set of qualities among those who are tasked with the job. You can't be too frightened of the task in hand - even the greatest classical composers were just the musical stars of the day. On the other hand to approach the project with the idea that you are going to casually re-write and improve on the work of the likes of Beethoven, Mozart, Delibes or Tchaikovsky is to court disaster.

We were working with our client Audio Network who knew, as we did, that media professionals were having to do their best and extract bite-sized chunks from original (and often old) symphonic recordings. Andrew Sunnucks, the irrepressible founder of Audio Network, wanted to create a library of the finest quality symphonic recordings that had been specifically arranged for use in film, TV and advertising.

Says Jeff: "The whole project broke down into three parts. The first phase was choosing the pieces we were going to record. The second phase, recording, was the shortest and most fun part where we sit in a room and listen to the beautiful music that's being made. And then finally there is post-production which accounts for hours and hours of work: choosing the takes, close the gaps that need to be closed and then Rob Kelly mixes the music. This is a long and arduous process and then we take the mixed versions and chop them up again to create versions of anywhere between 30 and 60 seconds long. There could be 20 or 30 versions of each work."

The project was broken down into two parts: the first was recorded in autumn 2014 and the second followed in spring 2015. The Abbey Road sessions were the only time that Jeff (Chicago), Julian and Rob (different parts of London) and David (rural Yorkshire) worked in the same location. For the rest of the time, the Internet and Skype provided the means of communication.

Says David: "In post-production, Jeff, Rob and I have to be able to pass pieces of music around between each other. And as we found out on the first set of recordings, if your computer systems are not identical the sound will change." Co-collaborator Julian Gallant says the hours of graft spent on the first project helped the team when it came to the second half. as Jeff admitted: "I can safely say that I have never worked on any project that has taught me more - not just the music and the orchestration, but technical issues and learning how to manipulate the audio. It's been phenomenal."

Says David: "It's just such a privilege. You are taking the greatest works in the world and saying 'We can change this. Beethoven's Fifth? Let's add a violin in there.' and then we get an orchestra to play it. It's amazing really."

The Classical Collection is available from Audio Network ( as an eight album set. The full track listings are set out below.


Classical Collection


  • Ride of the Valkyries  (Wagner)
  • Night on a Bare Mountain  (Mussorgsky)
  • Ode to Joy  (Beethoven)
  • Symphony No. 40  (Mozart)
  • In the Hall of the Mountain King  (Greig)
  • Hallelujah Chorus  (Handel)
  • William Tell Overture  (Rossini)
  • Flight of the Bumble Bee  


  • Pastoral Symphony (1st Movement)  (Beethoven)
  • Morning  (Greig)
  • Blue Danube  (J Strauss)
  • Danse Macabre  (Saint-Saens)
  • Jerusalem  (Blake/Parry)
  • Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy  (Tchaikovsky)
  • Wedding March  (Mendelssohn)


  • Un Bel Di  (Puccini)
  • Largo al Factotum  (Rossini)
  • Chorus of the Hebrew Slaves  (Verdi)
  • Prelude to Carmen  (Bizet)
  • Habanera  (Bizet)
  • Toreador  (Bizet)
  • Dido’s Lament  (Purcell)
  • Liebestraume  (Liszt)
  • Ave Maria  (Schubert)
  • Ave Maria  (Bach/Gounod)
  • Barcarolle  (Offenbach)
  • Brindisi  (Verdi)
  • Flower Duet  (Delibes)
  • La Donna E Mobile  (Verdi)


  • Air on a G String  (JS Bach)
  • Eine Kleine Nachtmusik Allegro  (Mozart)
  • Eine Kleine Nachtmusic Romanze  (Mozart)
  • Four Seasons -all four movements  (Vivaldi)
  • Pizzicati  (Delibes)
  • Pizzicato Polka  (J Strauss)
  • Celebrated Minuet (Boccherini)
  • Lullaby (Brahms)
  • Prince of Denmark's March  (Clarke)
  • Trout  (Schubert)
  • Bridal Chorus   (Wagner)




  • Chit Chat Polka (Johann Strauss)

    Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) on antique print from 1899. Russian composer. After unknown artist and published in the 19th century in portraits, Germany, 1899.

    Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

  • Thieving Magpie (Rossini)

  • Exhibition ((Mussorgsky)

  • Roma Rhapsody   (Brahms)

  • Entrance of the Clowns  (Fucik)

  • Infernal Galop  (Offenbach)

  • 1812 Overture  (Tchaikovsky)

  • Barber of Seville (Rossini)



  • saint-saens

    Camille Saint-Saëns (1831-1909) pictured in 1900.

    Where'er You Walk (Handel)

  • Swan  (Saint-Saens)

  • Lascia  (Handel)

  • Butterfly Dream (Puccini)

  • New World  (Dvorak)

  • C'est Lindor  (Fauré)

  • Ballet for a Bear (Ponchielli)

  • Lullaby for Dolly (Fauré)




  • Bedrich Smetana (1824 - 1884)

    Bedrich Smetana (1824 - 1884)

    Day of Anger (Verdi)

  • Scheherezade (Rimsky-Korsakov)

  • Lady of Sorrows (Mozart)

  • Sea of Iona  (Mendelssohn)

  • Fate  (Verdi)

  • Aqua Mundi  (Saint-Saens)

  • Triumph March (Verdi)

  • Homeland  (Smetana)

  • Victory Symphony  (Beethoven)



  • handel

    George Frederic Handel (1685 - 1759)

    Badinerie (Bach)

  • Water Music (Handel)

  • Zadok the Priest (Handel)

  • Queen of Sheba (Handel)

  • Dance of the Mirlitons (Tchaikovsky)

  • Dance of the Cygnets (Tchaikovsky)

  • Presto Overture (Mozart)

  • Elephant (Saint Saens)

Closeup of black and white piano keys and wood grain with sepia tone